How many times can you reschedule a Sezzle payment?
Sezzle's help pages say 'up to three times' in some cases, and 'two per order' for subscribers. Both read 23 September 2026, with the limits and the fee.
Sezzle’s help pages give no single number. Its reschedule help article says that “in some cases” you may reschedule a payment up to three times; its fee article says Premium or Anywhere subscribers get one free reschedule “for a total of two per order”. Payments move at most two weeks from the original due date, never past the next instalment.
That is the whole answer to how many times you can reschedule a Sezzle payment, and it is less tidy than the question deserves. This is an evergreen explainer, not news: nothing changed this week. It rests on three articles in Sezzle’s shopper help centre that this desk read on 23 September 2026, two showing “Updated” on 30 July 2025 and one on 7 August 2025, set beside an older copy of Sezzle’s FAQ that a merchant still hosts on its own storefront.
How many times can you reschedule a Sezzle payment?
Start with the page most people land on. Sezzle’s How do I reschedule a payment? says qualifying orders are eligible for reschedules, which “may be subject to a fee depending on your state’s regulations”, and then: “In some cases, you may be able to reschedule your payments up to three times.”
“In some cases” is doing a great deal of work in that sentence, and the page never says which cases. It does not name the states, the order types or the account standing that earn a third reschedule. The companion article, Why can’t I reschedule my payment?, repeats the same sentence word for word and adds nothing to define it.
The fee article, Why was I charged a fee for rescheduling my payment?, gives a different kind of figure: “Premium or Anywhere subscribers receive one reschedule for free, for a total of two per order.”
Put those side by side and you have a ceiling of three “in some cases” and a total of two for subscribers, on pages updated the same afternoon. The pages do not reconcile them. One reading is that “two per order” means one free plus one paid for a subscriber, while three is a separate, state-dependent allowance; another is that “two” is simply the subscriber total and non-subscribers get fewer. Neither reading is stated anywhere this desk read, so we offer neither as the answer. What can be said with confidence is narrower:
- The most Sezzle’s current pages mention is three reschedules, and only “in some cases”.
- Premium and Anywhere subscribers are told they get one reschedule free on every order.
- Your own order screen is the authority. The reschedule article says that if the option is missing from your dashboard, you should see the “Why can’t I reschedule” article, which treats a missing button as meaning the order’s reschedules are used up or the order is ineligible.
Sezzle’s reschedule pages, side by side
The table is the reason this post exists. The first three columns are Sezzle’s own help-centre articles as read on 23 September 2026, with the “Updated” date each one displays. The last column is the older Sezzle FAQ text reproduced on a merchant storefront (Cerqular’s Sezzle page, undated), read the same day. It is a merchant-hosted copy, not a Sezzle page, and it is shown only to explain where the older answers in search results come from.
| Point | “How do I reschedule a payment?” (30 July 2025) | “Why was I charged a fee…?” (30 July 2025) | “Why can’t I reschedule…?” (7 August 2025) | Merchant-hosted copy (undated) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How many | “In some cases” up to three | Subscribers: “a total of two per order” | “In some cases” up to three | Up to three “depending on your state’s guidelines” |
| Free reschedule | One on every order for Premium or Anywhere | One for Premium or Anywhere subscribers | One for Premium or Anywhere | “One free reschedule on every order”, no subscription mentioned |
| Fee | May apply, by state regulations | Shown for approval, added to the payment, cannot be waived | May apply | Second and third reschedules need approval of a fee |
| Where | App only | Not stated | App only | “Sezzle dashboard” |
| How far | Two weeks from the original due date, not past the next instalment | Not stated | Not stated | “Two weeks at a time” |
| New orders | Blocked until rescheduled instalments are paid | Not stated | Not stated | Blocked until caught up |
| Moving back | Fee not removed by moving earlier | Fee not removed by moving back to the original date | Not stated | Fee not removed by moving earlier |
Two differences stand out. The merchant copy offers “one free reschedule on every order” with no mention of a subscription; Sezzle’s current pages attach the free one to its Premium and Anywhere subscriptions. And the merchant copy sends you to a dashboard, where Sezzle’s pages now say rescheduling is “only available in the app”. If a search result tells you the first reschedule is free for all, it is probably quoting the older text, and the copy carries no date to warn you.
How far can you push back a Sezzle payment?
Sezzle’s reschedule article sets two limits. A payment can move “up to two weeks from their original due date”, and not “further than the next installment on the order”. Both apply at once, and whichever arrives sooner is the limit.
A worked illustration, with invented dates rather than anyone’s real order: an instalment falls due on the 1st of the month and the next one on the 15th. On the article’s two rules, the first can move no later than the 15th, whether you count two weeks from the 1st or stop at the next instalment. If the gap between instalments were shorter than two weeks, the next instalment would be the binding limit and the two-week allowance would never be reached. The article does not say whether a payment can land on the same day as the next one, so check the calendar the app offers you rather than assuming the last day is available.
The phrasing matters. The current page measures the two weeks from the original due date. The older merchant copy said payments could be moved “two weeks at a time” and that additional reschedules could move them again. The current page does not repeat that, so whether a second reschedule can push a payment further than two weeks from its first due date is not something this desk can confirm from Sezzle’s own words.
Timing is the other limit. Sezzle recommends rescheduling “at least 48 hours before the due date”. Inside that window it “cannot guarantee” the reschedule will succeed, and the instalment “may still be charged as originally scheduled”. A reschedule attempted on the due date is, on Sezzle’s own account, a hope rather than a plan.
Does Sezzle charge a fee to reschedule?
It may, and the pages say more about how the fee behaves than about what it costs. From the fee article: reschedule fees “will be displayed for your approval during the rescheduling process and added to the payment amount”. Sezzle “cannot waive this fee once imposed”, and moving the payment back to its original date “will not remove the fee”. The reschedule article adds that once a fee has been added, moving the date earlier will not remove it either.
On the amount, none of the three articles gives a figure. The fee article says the type and amount of Sezzle fees “may vary according to state laws” and directs you to the loan agreement, the “Truth in Lending Disclosure”, linked below each Sezzle order. The reschedule article says fees “may not apply to shoppers in certain regions” and, where imposed, are set by individual state regulations based on your location when the payment is processed. Figures circulating in search summaries do not appear on any page this desk read, so we do not repeat them. Your own disclosure is the only number that counts, and Sezzle shows the fee before you confirm. That order of events is the useful part: the fee is visible at the review screen, so a shopper who reads it there can still back out, and one who confirms first and reads later cannot, because the fee article is plain that the fee stays once imposed.
Two things cost nothing, on Sezzle’s word. Rescheduling to an earlier date “does not incur fees or impact your ability to place new orders”, and the reschedule article says you “can always pay off installments early for no charge”.
How do you reschedule a Sezzle payment?
In the app, and only there. The reschedule article’s steps, in order:
- Log in and open the “Orders” tab in the Sezzle app.
- Choose “Active orders” and select the order.
- Select “Reschedule” and pick the payment.
- Choose the new due date and “Continue”.
- Review it and confirm with “Reschedule Payment”.
Sezzle notes that the reschedule is final once confirmed. Any fee appears during this process for approval, so the review screen is the last point at which you can decline it.
Why can’t I reschedule my Sezzle payment?
Sezzle’s article on exactly this question gives three reasons the reschedule button may be missing or unavailable:
- You have used up the reschedules available on that order.
- The order is ineligible; “some orders and merchants may be ineligible for reschedules”.
- You have an outstanding failed or processing payment on your account. Resolve the failed payment and rescheduling should become available again.
A fourth reason is practical rather than stated as one: if you are on the website, you will not find the option, because reschedules “can only take place within the Sezzle app at this time”.
What a reschedule does to the rest of your account
The cost that catches people is not the fee. Sezzle’s reschedule article says you “cannot place any new orders until all rescheduled installments on your account are paid in full”. Push one instalment on one order and the whole account stops taking new purchases until every rescheduled instalment is cleared.
That is a sensible lender’s rule, and a reminder of what a reschedule is: a change to the repayment terms of a loan, priced by state law and recorded against a disclosure. We have argued before that pay-in-four is a credit product whatever the button says, and the reschedule pages rather make the case for us. If a reschedule is not available, or the two weeks are not enough, the next stop is what Sezzle says about missing a payment, where failed-payment and late fees apply instead; how those fees are set differs widely from market to market.
Is a Sezzle subscription worth it for the free reschedule?
The pages say what the subscription adds, not what it costs. The reschedule article pitches Sezzle Premium and Anywhere as the way to get “one free reschedule on every order”, along with Premium Support and access to additional merchants. None of the three articles read here gives a subscription price, so the comparison you need is yours to make: the fee on your Truth in Lending Disclosure for a reschedule, against the subscription price Sezzle shows you, against how often you actually move a payment.
What this desk read, and what it did not
On 23 September 2026 this desk read, by plain fetch, Sezzle’s three help-centre articles linked above and the merchant-hosted copy of Sezzle’s FAQ on Cerqular’s storefront. We did not read Sezzle’s User Agreement, its separate article on paying an order off in full, or any individual Truth in Lending Disclosure, and we cannot see the forum threads that rank for this query. Nothing here comes from using the app; the steps are Sezzle’s, quoted.
Frequently asked questions
How many times can you reschedule a Sezzle payment? Sezzle’s pages give two answers. Its reschedule article says that in some cases you may reschedule up to three times; its fee article says Premium or Anywhere subscribers get one free reschedule, for a total of two per order. Neither page, as read on 23 September 2026, defines which orders get three or explains how the two figures fit together.
Does Sezzle charge a fee to reschedule? It may. Sezzle says reschedules may be subject to a fee depending on your state’s regulations, that the fee is shown for your approval and added to the payment, and that it cannot be waived once imposed. The three help articles this desk read state no amount; Sezzle points to the Truth in Lending Disclosure linked below each order.
How far can you push back a Sezzle payment? Up to two weeks from its original due date, and never past the next instalment on the same order, according to Sezzle’s reschedule article. Sezzle also recommends rescheduling at least 48 hours before the due date; inside that window it cannot guarantee the reschedule will work, and the instalment may still be charged as originally scheduled.
Why can’t I reschedule my Sezzle payment? Sezzle’s help article gives three reasons: you have used up the reschedules available on that order, the order or merchant is ineligible, or you have an outstanding failed or processing payment on your account. The last one clears once the failed payment is resolved. Rescheduling is also only offered in the Sezzle app, so the website will not show the option.
Can you pay off Sezzle early? Yes, according to Sezzle’s reschedule article, which says you can always pay off instalments early for no charge and that moving a payment to an earlier date does not incur fees. This desk did not read Sezzle’s separate article on paying an order off in full, so the mechanics of doing it are not covered here.
Nothing here is financial advice. A Sezzle reschedule is a change to the terms of a loan, and the fee, the count and the limits that apply to you are the ones on your own order and its Truth in Lending Disclosure: read them before you tap confirm, because Sezzle will not take the fee back afterwards.